Sitting On the Steps of the Met

MY VISIT

I had first heard of the Metropolitan Museum of Art from the show “Gossip Girl” as characters Blair and Serena had their infamous coffee and breakfast on the steps of the Met. However my fascination of the museum grew quickly after this initial exposure as I dreamed of one day venturing the halls of the museum and having coffee on the steps myself.

This was finally checked off my bucket list during my visit to New York City in the summer of 2016. I had the most amazing time during my visit that I wish I had planned for a longer visit to the museum. My day started by grabbing a cup of coffee from a coffee cart and enjoying it on the steps of the Met. Around 10:15 I entered the museum and started my day on the first floor at the Greek and Roman Art department, I then made a clockwise circle around the museum ending with Egyptian Art. My favorite exhibits were the modern and contemporary art department and the Egyptian art department. I have attached pictures of some of my favorite pieces from the museum. Additionally, I had the opportunity of viewing the Costume Institute during its showcase of that years Met Gala designs. This exhibition combined two of my passions: art and fashion! The dresses in this institute were absolutely beautiful and I was astonished by the level of skill and creativity that went into every single one of them. Overall, the experience was an unforgettable one that truly lived up to the dream, I would visit the museum again any time I’m in New York City.

TIPS AND TRICKS

  1. The museum opens at 10 am during the week so head over around 8:30 after picking up coffee and enjoy a cup on the steps of the Met.
  2. Do not underestimate the size of the museum and plan for two days to be able to truly see everything you want.
  3. You have two options for lunch:
    1. Have lunch in the museum it allows you to take a break and take full advantage of the beautiful views.
    2. Pack a picnic to have in Central Park as your ticket is good for the whole day in the museum.
  4. Either go to the museum alone, with someone who has very similar taste in art, or with someone who doesn’t mind splitting up. The museum truly is massive and you can easily lose time in a department that you are not interested in.

GENERAL INFO

I have linked up some key sections of the Met website for assistance in planning your trip.

Map: http://maps.metmuseum.org

Location Hours: http://www.metmuseum.org/visit/met-breuer

Buy Tickets: http://www.metmuseum.org/visit/buy-tickets

IMG_5910
Spanish Choir Screen: found at the head of the Medieval Art exhibit 
IMG_5913
Armenian History: as an Armenian this small portion made me extremely proud of my heritage
IMG_5952
Water Lilies-Claude Monet
IMG_5955
Lee Krasner: this piece of contemporary/modern art was truly one of my favorites in the exhibition 
IMG_5962
Dancer with a Fan-Degas: as a ballerina myself, I am in love with Degas’ ballerina paintings and sculptures
IMG_5957
Modern Art-Julian: this piece was my second favorite in the contemporary/modern art exhibit 
Leave a Reply

